Jury

Industry jury

Jury

Caroline Peters

jury-peters

Caroline Peters is one of the most sought-after actresses in the German-speaking world. She’s been leaving her mark on German-language theater for years, for example at playhouses in Cologne and Zurich, at Volksbühne in Berlin as well as at the Burgtheater in Vienna. She’s been honoured for her distinguished portrayals of smart and fast-paced characters and received, among others, the German Acting Award as ‘Best Actress in a comedic role’ and the ‘Theater Actress 2016’ prize by magazine Theater heute. Caroline Peters became well-known to a wider audience with the main role in comedy crime show “Mord mit Aussicht”.

Bryan M. Ferguson

jury-ferguson

Bryan M. Ferguson is a self-taught filmmaker and photographer from Glasgow, Scotland. His visual style solidified while living in Florida, a place he felt evoked an atmosphere of candy-coloured nihilism. Ferguson’s work has been described as paradoxically beautiful and disturbing – his surrealism earns him the reputation as a unique visionary with a distinct film style in the British short film landscape. His films have received critical acclaim at festivals and exhibitions in the US, Canada, UK, France, China, and many more. His film “Umbilical Glue” has been picked up by the BBC for exclusive broadcasting rights in the UK.

Johannes Duncker

jury-duncker

Johannes Duncker has been the director of Short Film Festival Cologne since 2013. He was born into a parish family in Westphalia and later moved to Turkey with his family where he visited the German School of Istanbul. After graduation and next to his own short film projects, he studied Theatre, Film and Television as well as English and History in Cologne and Rome. He completed his studies with a master’s thesis about the aesthetics of digital film. In addition to his job as a festival director, he also produces short films and commercials as a freelance author and filmmaker.

Youth jury

Emma Domin

jugendjury-domin1

My name is Emma, I’m 17 years old and I am in the 12th grade at Lobdeburgschule Jena. In my spare time, I like to be creative by engaging in painting and photography. I’m an elected representative of the pupils at my school and in this position represent the interests and opinions of the teenagers which is also my goal as a member of the youth jury. As I was visiting the course “Media and Communications” at my school, I was able to gain knowledge and personal experiences in the field of film and cinema. I’m looking forward to many emotions, exciting stories and great short films!

Franka Seidel

jugendjury-seidel2

My name is Franka, I’m 16 years old and I’m in the 10th grade of Carl-Zeiss-Gymnasium in Jena. I have already been part of a youth jury at a short film festival in the past and therefore seen and assessed a lot of material. I’m very interested in short films and in films in general. In my spare time, I like to go swimming as well as to draw and engage in creative activities. I’m looking forward to participate in another short film festival and I’m excited for the festival week.

Magdalena Werner

jugendjury-werner

My name is Magdalena. I’m 19 years old and I’m currently in the final stages of my studies at Montessorischule Jena. There’s one thing I’m sure about: I want to be active in the fields of television and media later on. At cellu l’art I can gain experience as well as get in touch with professionals who could possibly show me which tasks I can expect in those fields. Furthermore, the film programme stimulates socio-critical reflections. All of this is enriching, and I’m looking forward to working together with a great team and to a lot of new impressions.

Jury

Fachjury

Jury

Caroline Peters

jury-peters
Caroline Peters ist eine der gefragtesten Schauspielerinnen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Seit Ihren Anfängen prägt sie das deutschsprachige Theater u.a. an den Schauspielhäusern Köln und Zürich, an der Berliner Volksbühne sowie am Burgtheater in Wien. Sie wurde vielfach für ihre temporeichen, präsenten und klugen Abbilder menschlicher Motive ausgezeichnet, u.a. mit dem Deutschen Schauspielerpreis als »Beste Schauspielerin in einer komödiantischen Rolle« und von der Fachzeitschrift Theater heute als »Theaterschauspielerin 2016«. Einem breiten Publikum wurde sie durch die Hauptrolle in der ARD-Krimiserie »Mord mit Aussicht« bekannt.

Bryan M. Ferguson

jury-ferguson
Bryan M. Ferguson, Filmemacher und Fotograf aus Glasgow (Schottland). Er erlernte das Filmhandwerk selbständig in Florida (USA), einem Ort, der seiner Meinung nach eine Atmosphäre von bonbon-buntem Nihilismus ausstrahlt. Fergusons Werk vereint Schönes und Verstörendes – sein surrealistischer Stil macht ihn zu einer einzigartigen Figur in der britischen Kurzfilmlandschaft. Fergusons Filme werden von Kritikern weltweit gefeiert und besuchten unter anderem Festivals in den USA, Kanada, dem UK, Frankreich und China. Die BBC sicherte sich zuletzt die landesweiten Exklusivrechte an seinem Film “Umbilical Glue”.

Johannes Duncker

jury-duncker
Johannes Duncker ist seit 2013 Leiter des Kurzfilmfestival Kölns. Im Jahr 1983 in Westfalen als Sohn einer Pfarrfamilie geboren, zog er später mit seiner Familie in die Türkei, wo er die Deutsche Schule Istanbul besuchte, an der er auch sein Abitur ablegte. Neben ersten eigenen Kurzfilmprojekten studierte er anschließend in Köln und Rom Theater-, Film- und Fernsehwissenschaft sowie Anglistik und Geschichte. Sein Studium schloss er mit einer Magisterarbeit über die Ästhetik des digitalen Films ab. Neben seiner Leitungstätigkeit beim Kurzfilmfestival Köln realisiert er als freischaffender Autor und Filmemacher auch selbst Kurz- und Werbefilme.

Jugendjury

Emma Domin

jugendjury-domin1

Mein Name ist Emma, ich bin 17 Jahre alt und besuche die zwölfte Klasse der Lobdeburgschule Jena. Meine Freizeit gestalte ich am liebsten kreativ mit Malen und Fotografieren. Als Schülersprecherin vertrete ich die Meinung und Interessen der Jugendlichen an meiner Schule und das ist auch mein Ziel als Mitglied der Jugendjury. Durch das Fach „Medien und Kommunikation“ in der Schule konnte ich das nötige Vorwissen und persönliche Erfahrungen im Bereich Film sammeln. Ich freue mich auf viele Emotionen, spannende Erzählungen und tolle Kurzfilme!

Franka Seidel

jugendjury-seidel2

Mein Name ist Franka, ich bin 16 Jahre alt und besuche zurzeit die 10. Klasse des Carl-Zeiss-Gymnasiums in Jena. Ich habe bereits in der Vergangenheit in der Jugendjury eines weiteren Kurzfilmfestivals mitgewirkt und daher schon einiges an Material gesehen und bewerten dürfen. Auch sonst interessiere ich mich sehr für Kurzfilme und Filme im Allgemeinen. In meiner Freizeit gehe ich schwimmen, zeichne und arbeite gerne kreativ. Ich freue mich darauf, ein weiteres Mal bei einem Kurzfilmfestival mitzuwirken und bin gespannt darauf, was mich erwartet.

Magdalena Werner

jugendjury-werner

Mein Name ist Magdalena. Ich bin 19 Jahre alt und mache momentan mein Abitur an der Montessorischule Jena. Eines weiß ich schon genau: Ich möchte später im Bereich TV & Medien tätig sein. Beim cellu l’art kann ich Erfahrungen sammeln und in Kontakt mit Profis treten, die mir vielleicht zeigen können, welche Aufgaben mich in diesem Feld erwarten. Das Programm regt außerdem zu gesellschaftskritischen Reflexionen an. All dies sehe ich als Bereicherung und freue mich schon jetzt auf die Zusammenarbeit mit einem tollen Team und die neuen Eindrücke.