Country Focus

15th Country Focus
Scotland

Alba gu bràth!

Just two years before Brexit – which 62% of the approximately five million Scots voted against, more than any other country in the UK – Scotland decided upon their independence from England in a referendum that the majority of Scots did not vote in favour, either. These circumstances, in contrast with England’s more favourable endorsement of Brexit seems to have opened a new chapter in Scotland’s feud with England. Independence, in spite of its non-existence in terms of sovereignty, is deeply rooted within Scotland’s identity. But what exactly makes Scotland so independent, so unique?

During this year’s country focus, we would like to pursue this question with Scottish short films from the past few years. Three separate film programmes present a country which boasts an impressive cultural density and tradition, despite its relatively low population. We are going to stake out the landscape of social issues as much as the hills and mountains of the Highlands – the humour and creativity of Scottish filmmakers will serve us as a compass.

Scottish cinema begins with films about national heroes and events, such as the animation film "An Incident in the Boer War" (1900) or two competing "Rob Roy" productions (1922) about the Scottish Robin Hood. These films, though they were produced and filmed in Scotland, only garnered lukewarm reception. Scotland’s filmmakers were not equipped against the competition from England and the US and so, Scotland’s relevance for film devolved into a location for foreign productions, which still drew on Scotland’s rich history and talented authors. Among such films are "Bonnie Prince Charlie" (1923) about the famous Jacobite pretender, and "Lady of the Lake" (1928) adapted from a story by Sir Walter Scott. Scottish documentary filmmaker John Grierson ("Drifters", 1929) is of the utmost importance for film history for coining the term "documentary" in the first place.

Scotland’s double-edged relationship with film has continued to this day. While Scottish filmmakers such as Kevin Macleod ("The Last King of Scotland", 2006) or Alexander Mackendrick ("Whisky Galore!", 1949) are fairly popular, Scotland’s reputation in the film world as a shooting location is quite unmatched. Among the long list of films shot in Scotland are: "2001: A Space Odyssey" (1968), "Trainspotting" (1996), a number of "Harry Potter" films (2001-2011), and "Under the Skin" (2013). Meanwhile, many Scottish actresses and actors need no introduction: Sean Connery, Ewan McGregor, Karen Gillan, James McAvoy, Gerard Butler, Rose Leslie, and David Tennant are only the most well-known among those who rose to international fame.

The potential of Scotland as a film country should most decidedly not be limited to export. The thirty films that will be shown in this country focus are thirty good reasons for that. Apart from their aesthetic and narrative virtue, they express a sensibility for national and international matters. In the programme "Your Wee Bit Hill and Glen," we show short films which focus on Scotland's timeless myths and magnificent nature. In contrast, the central theme of "The Configuration of a Land" is the Scots’ psyche and the cityscapes of Scotland. The programme "The Man of Independent Mind" addresses the culture and creativity of this unique country. A retrospective of Glaswegian filmmaker Bryan M. Ferguson presents us with a very special insight into current Scottish short film; Bryan will also talk about his experience as a filmmaker in a master class.

Länderschwerpunkt

15. Länderschwerpunkt
Schottland

Alba gu bràth!

Noch vor dem Brexit 2016 – dem die etwa fünf Millionen Schotten mit 62% eine Absage erteilten, so viele wie kein anderes Land des Vereinigten Königreichs – entschied Schottland im Jahr 2014 über seine eigene Unabhängigkeit, auch damals mehrheitlich dagegen. Dieser Kontrast zur mehrheitlichen Brexit-Befürwortung in England scheint ein neues Kapitel eingeläutet zu haben in der Fehde zwischen Schotten und Engländern. Obwohl der Unabhängigkeitsgedanke also noch nicht in politische Souveränität umgesetzt wurde, ist er doch tief verwurzelt in der Identität Schottlands. Doch was macht Schottland so unabhängig, so einzigartig?

Im diesjährigen Länderschwerpunkt wollen wir dieser Frage mit schottischen Kurzfilmen aus der jüngeren Vergangenheit nachgehen. In drei Programmen stellen wir ein Land vor, das trotz seiner vergleichsweise geringen Population eine beeindruckende kulturelle Vielfalt und Tradition aufweist. Gesellschaftliche Themen werden wir so genau abstecken wie die Hügel und Berge der Highlands – der Humor und die Kreativität schottischer Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher dient uns als Kompass.

Das schottische Kino beginnt mit Filmen über nationale Helden und Ereignisse: Filme wie die Animation "An Incident in the Boer War" (1900) oder zwei konkurrierende, gleichnamige "Rob Roy"-Produktionen (1922) über den schottischen Robin Hood wurden produziert und gefilmt in Schottland, erlangten aber eine nur mäßige Rezeption. Der Konkurrenz aus England und den USA konnten schottische Filmemacher nicht viel entgegensetzen und so blieb die Relevanz für Schottland fast ausschließlich beschränkt auf einen Produktionsort für ausländische Filmemacher, die nichtsdestoweniger aus dem reichen Fundus schottischer Geschichte schöpften. Zu solchen Filmen zählen etwa "Bonnie Prince Charlie" (1923) über den berühmten Jakobiten-Anführer und "Lady of the Lake" (1928) nach einer Geschichte von Sir Walter Scott. Weitaus geschichtsträchtiger ist der schottische Dokumentarfilmer John Grierson ("Drifters", 1929), dem wir den Begriff "Dokumentation" überhaupt erst verdanken.

Dieses zweischneidige Verhältnis Schottlands zum Film wird noch heute fortgeführt. Während schottische Filmemacher wie Kevin Macleod ("The Last King of Scotland", 2006) oder Alexander Mackendrick ("Whisky Galore!", 1949) einigermaßen bekannt sind, steht Schottland international vor allem als Drehort und mit seiner Varianz an historisch-literarischen Stoffen im Rampenlicht. Zu der langen Liste von Filmen, die in Schottland gedreht wurden, gehören: "2001: A Space Odyssey" (1968), "Trainspotting" (1996), diverse "Harry Potter"-Filme (2001-2011) und "Under the Skin" (2013). Schottische Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler bedürfen währenddessen keiner Vorstellung: Sean Connery, Ewan McGregor, Karen Gillan, James McAvoy, Gerard Butler, Rose Leslie und David Tennant sind nur einige der Namen, die zu weltweitem Ruhm gelangt sind.

Auf keinen Fall aber sollte sich Schottlands Potenzial als Filmland auf den Export beschränken. Die dreißig Kurzfilme, die in diesem Länderschwerpunkt gezeigt werden, sind dreißig gute Gründe dafür. Neben ihrer ästhetischen und narrativen Wirksamkeit drücken sie eine Sensibilität für nationale und internationale Belange aus. Im Programm "Your Wee Bit Hill and Glen" zeigen wir Kurzfilme, die Schottlands zeitlose Mythen und prächtige Natur in den Fokus stellen. Als Kontrast ist bei "The Configuration of a Land" die Psyche der Schotten und das Stadtbild Schottlands ein zentrales Thema. Das Programm "The Man of Independent Mind" befasst sich mit der Kultur und Kreativität dieses einzigartigen Landes. Ein ganz besonderer Einblick in den aktuellen schottischen Kurzfilm erwartet uns mit einer Retrospektive zu den Filmen des aus Glasgow stammenden Filmemachers Bryan M. Ferguson, der zusätzlich in einer Master Class über seine Erfahrungen im Film referiert.