celluthèque

celluthèque

Our temporary short film exhibition

Discover a new selection of short films every month, which we select for you under changing mottos. Available free of charge and until the end of the month. Just click on the picture to watch the respective film.

March 2021: Shorts Without A Word

Film was and is primarily a visual art form: This month we would like to celebrate exactly this aspect and present you eight selected short films that work completely without a spoken word. No words, no language barriers, no subtitles - just unleashed imagery, sometimes framed with music.



Squirrel Island

Direction: Astrid Goldsmith
UK 2016, 21 minutes

squirrel_island_cellutheque_03-21

Something is rotten on the red squirrels' island: a stranded gray squirrel notices it very quickly when it discovers an underground laboratory used by vengeful red squirrels to breed mutated zombie acorns... Astrid Goldsmith worked on "Squirrel Island" in her garage for seven years: The result is an exciting sci-fi film with an ecological thriller touch.

La tour

Direction: René Clair
France 1928, 14 minutes

la_tour_cellutheque_03-21

"A poem made out of pictures, that's what I tried to make. For my personal enjoyment, I shot "La Tour" in honor of this tall girl made of steel I've always been in love with" - says director René Clair about his short film. Clair made some of the most internationally famous and popular Paris films in the 1920s and 1930s.



i

Direction: Luke Losey
UK 2007, 2 minutes

i_cellutheque_03-21

Film is an art form of the gaze: the viewer's gaze at a subject. But in "i" the film and the main character look back at the audience - and thereby involves it all the more in an obviously unpleasant, if not extremely dangerous situation... A meditation on the nature of the gaze and at the same time a compressed and nasty horror movie.

Inspiratsioon

Direction: Elbert Tuganov
Soviet Union 1975, 7 minutes

inspiration_cellutheque_03-21

The 18th Estonian Song Festival in 1975 serves as a source of inspiration for a documentary that turns into resounding sketches of paintings. Elbert Tuganov, the father of the Estonian animation film, combines documentary recordings of Tallinn in the fever of the song festival, colorful paintings and expressive choral songs to create an audiovisual spiral of mutual inspiration.



Trumpet Man

Direction: Emily Wong
Hong Kong 2016, 14 minutes

trumpet_man_cellutheque_03-21

"Trumpet Man" is a philosophical creation story and at the same time a harsh melodrama about abusive, violent relationships; a groovy dance and music film and an uncompromising horror picture in which bodies are dismembered and dissolved. A game of seduction, deception, joy and horror, told in an artful clay animation.

Andy

Direction: Wakefield Poole
USA 1971, 10 minutes

andy_cellutheque_03-21

Marilyn Monroe, an electric chair, Elvis Presley, Campbell soups and of course Andy Warhol himself meet in Wakefield Poole's documentary about the Andy Warhol retrospective at New York's Whitney Museum of American Art, which took place in the spring of 1971. The film was a birthday present to Warhol, and was later shown as a supporting film for Poole's "Boys in the Sand".



Mammal

Direction: Astrid Rieger
Germany 2007, 8 minutes

mammal_cellutheque_03-21

A boy's best friend is his mother - but sometimes thoughts wander off into distant dreams, where women become cats and lakes are transformed into giant stews... With her short movie "Mammal" and its extraordinary images, Astrid Rieger has created a surreal coming-of-age film about growing up and the relationship between son and mother.

Pas de deux

Direction: Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren 1968, 13 minutes

pas-de-deux_cellutheque_03-21

Two ballet dancers in white silhouette blur against a completely black background during their performance: With an elaborate lighting, individual analog film images copied on one another and an electronically processed Romanian panpipe score, the Canadian animation film pioneer Norman McLaren has created a masterpiece of poetic short film art.

celluthèque

celluthèque

Unsere Kurzfilm-Wechselausstellung

Entdeckt jeden Monat eine neue Auswahl an Kurzfilmen, die wir für euch unter wechselnden Mottos auswählen und kuratieren. Kostenlos und dauerhaft bis Ende des Monats verfügbar. Zum Ansehen des jeweiligen Films einfach auf das Bild klicken.

März 2021: Kurz ohne Worte

Film war und ist in erster Linie eine visuelle Kunstform: In diesem Monat möchten wir genau diesen Aspekt feiern und präsentieren euch acht ausgewählte Kurzfilme, die komplett ohne das gesprochene Wort auskommen. Keine Worte, keine Sprachbarrieren, keine Untertitel – sondern nur entfesselte Bilderwelten, manchmal musikalisch eingerahmt.



Squirrel Island

Regie: Astrid Goldsmith
UK 2016, 21 Minuten

squirrel_island_cellutheque_03-21

Etwas ist faul auf der Insel der Rothörnchen: das merkt ein gestrandetes Grauhörnchen recht schnell, als es ein unterirdisches Labor entdeckt, das rachesüchtige Rothörnchen zur Züchtung mutierter Zombie-Eicheln nutzen... Sieben Jahre lang arbeitete Astrid Goldsmith in ihrer heimischen Garage an "Squirrel Island": entstanden ist ein spannender SciFi-Film mit Öko-Thriller-Einschlag.

La tour

Regie: René Clair
Frankreich 1928, 14 Minuten

la_tour_cellutheque_03-21

"Ein Gedicht aus Bildern, das habe ich versucht zu machen. Ich drehte zu meinem persönlichen Vergnügen "La Tour" zu Ehren dieses großen Mädchens aus Stahl, in das ich immer verliebt gewesen bin" – so der Regisseur René Clair, der in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren einige der international berühmtesten und beliebtesten Paris-Filme drehte.



i

Regie: Luke Losey
UK 2007, 2 Minuten

i_cellutheque_03-21

Film ist eine Kunstform des Blickes: des Zuschauerblicks auf ein Subjekt. Doch in "i" guckt der Film, guckt die Hauptfigur zurück auf die Zuschauer – und involviert sie dadurch umsomehr in eine offensichtlich unangenehme, wenn nicht gar hochgefährliche Situation... Eine Meditation über das Wesen des Blicks und zugleich ein komprimierter und fieser Horrorfilm.

Inspiratsioon

Regie: Elbert Tuganov
Sowjetunion 1975, 7 Minuten

inspiration_cellutheque_03-21

Das 18. Estnische Liederfest im Jahr 1975 dient als Inspirationsquelle für einen Dokumentarfilm, der sich in tönende Skizzen von Gemälden verwandelt. Elbert Tuganov, der Vater des estnischen Animationsfilms, verbindet dokumentarische Aufnahmen Tallinns im Fieber des Liederfestes, bunte Malerei und ausdrucksstarke Chorgesänge zu einer audiovisuellen Spirale der gegenseitigen Inspiration.



Trumpet Man

Regie: Emily Wong
Hong Kong 2016, 14 Minuten

trumpet_man_cellutheque_03-21

"Trumpet Man" ist eine philosophische Schöpfungsgeschichte und zugleich ein hartes Melodrama über toxische, gewalttätige Beziehungen; ein fetziger Tanz- und Musikfilm und ein kompromissloser Horrorfilm, in dem Körper zerstückelt und aufgelöst werden. Ein Spiel von Verführung, Täuschung, Freude und Schrecken, erzählt in einer kunstvollen Knetanimation.

Andy

Regie: Wakefield Poole
USA 1971, 10 Minuten

andy_cellutheque_03-21

Marilyn Monroe, ein elektrischer Stuhl, Elvis Presley, Campbell-Suppen und natürlich Andy Warhol selbst treffen sich in Wakefield Pooles Dokumentation über die Andy-Warhol-Retrospektive im New Yorker Whitney Museum of American Art, die im Frühjahr 1971 stattfand. Der Film war ein Geburtstagsgeschenk an Warhol, und lief später auch als Vorfilm zu Pooles "Boys in the Sand".



Mammal

Regie: Astrid Rieger
Deutschland 2007, 8 Minuten

mammal_cellutheque_03-21

Der beste Freund eines Jungen ist seine Mutter – aber manchmal schweifen die Gedanken weg in ferne Träume, wo sich Frauen in Katzen und Seen in riesige Eintöpfe verwandeln... Mit außergewöhnlichen Bildern, die immer wieder auf's Neue überraschen, erschafft Astrid Rieger in "Mammal" einen surrealen Coming-of-Age-Film über das Heranwachsen und die Beziehung zwischen Sohn und Mutter.

Pas de deux

Regie: Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren 1968, 13 Minuten

pas-de-deux_cellutheque_03-21

Zwei Balletttänzer in weißer Silhouette verschwimmen in ihrer Performance vor einem komplett schwarzen Hintergrund: Mit einer aufwändigen Lichtsetzung, übereinander kopierten analogen Einzelfilmbildern und einer elektronisch verfremdeten rumänischen Panflötenmusik erschuf der kanadische Animationsfilmpionier Norman McLaren ein Meisterwerk des poetischen Kurzfilms.